Enterprise-Level Team Data Access Permissions
Chorus offers enterprise-level data access permissions for your teams. By activating your data access permissions, your Chorus Admin can set which recordings, and data from those recordings, is accessible to specific teams. By default, data access is off, and all records (except Private Recordings) are available to your users across Chorus.
Should you need to limit which Chorus records individual team(s) have access to, have your Chorus Admin adjust these settings by following the steps below.
- Sign into Chorus > click on your initials > settings > User Management > Teams Data Access tab
- From this page, click the “Activate Data Access” button. Once activated, each team’s info is viewable only by them. Review the confirmation modal for an overview of what will happen when data access is activated.
- After activating, edit the permissions for relevant teams to ensure the proper level of collaboration between teams.
- Once Data Access is activated, your team will only be able to see their own content. If your team collaborates with another and will need to share access to recordings, please add those other teams in this step.
- For example, if you have a BDR team and an AE team, right now they will only be able to see their own team’s recordings. To allow these two teams to have the necessary visibility into the other to partner on deals, you should adjust the data access setting on each team, respectively.
- Typically adjusting team collaboration in this way is done regionally or by business groups.
- To edit a team's data access, hover your mouse over one of the teams you’d like to ensure can collaborate, and click “Edit”
- At the bottom of that team’s page, you’ll see Data Access. Go ahead and add the other teams that this particular team will need to have visibility into.
- At this stage, just adding the AE team to be viewable by the BDR team means the AE still does not have visibility into the BDR team. You will need to go into the AE team permissions to add the BDRs to make it bi-directional.
- Click Save Changes!
Pro Tip: We recommend creating a Leadership Team and adding all other teams to the Data Access list so they have visibility into all teams, but all teams do not have visibility into the Leadership Team’s calls and data.
All of these Data Access changes are completely reversible. You can elect to deactivate Data Access, and it will restore historical and future records to be visible for everyone -- with the exception of private recordings. If you change your mind, you can reactivate it with your previously saved data access settings for each team.
How This Affects Playlists
Even though viewing individual recordings can be limited by team(s), we know Playlists are an integral part of training curriculums. Since training content is unique and needs to be accessible to keep curriculums consistent, Playlist content can be manually shared to individuals, who will then be able to listen to the entire set of recordings.
Regardless of whether Data Access is enabled, when a playlist is created, it will be automatically private to just the creator. To share with entire teams or just individuals, simply click the “Share Playlist Access” and select with whom to share. Users can only share playlists with people and teams whose records they have data access to. This means an Enablement manager generating training materials can share across the whole organization, but a rep with access to only their team’s records will only be able to share a playlist with those users.